Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Assignment in brief
Convince your classmates (and potential faculty guests) to move to your region. This is to be done from the 17th and 18th century perspective. You are required to mention not only the benefits but also the drawbacks of your region. You have a maximum of ten minutes.
New England -- MA, CT, RI
Middle Colonies -- PA, NJ, NY, DE
Chesapeake -- MD, VA
Southern Colonies -- NC, SC, GA
Books from the Library
The Colonial Period by
Call Number: 973.2 COL
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Daily Life in Colonial America by
Call Number: 973.2 NAR
Publication Date: 2010-04-02
Government and Social Class in Colonial America by
Call Number: 973.2 NAR
Publication Date: 2010-05-14
Religious Beliefs in Colonial America by
Call Number: 200.973 NAR
Publication Date: 2010-06-11
ABC-CLIO American Government
This database is particularly helpful for finding information about colonial charters and government. It also includes individual state histories, maps, and flags, as well as topical information about economic and legal developments.
Try searching for your particular state(s), "colony" or "colonies" in general.
ABC-CLIO American History
This database includes general reference articles about the colonies and colonization, as well as visual media and primary documents. It provides information about education, religion, agriculture, and economics from colonial times, as well as notable figures from the colonies.
Try searching for your region, or "colony" or "colonies" for more general results.
ABC-CLIO United States Geography
Use this database to find maps and other images for your state(s) and region.
The New England region has additional information about colonial New Englanders' impact on the environment.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - History
GVRL provides an online library of encyclopedias and reference books.
Browse individual titles for relevant entries: for example, "American Eras, Vol. II" for the entry "Colonial Americans." Or, use the search box for results from all sources at once.
The Map as History
Interested in an animated map of your region?
Check out "Colonies in North America" or "The United States: a Territorial History."
EBSCO History Reference Center
Click on "History Reference Center" before entering your search terms.