Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Assignment in brief
- Research the historical context of life in the 1950s and 1960s, considering the questions presented in the assignment.
- Select three sources that relate to your question.
- For each source provide the following:
- Full MLA citation
- Paragraph 1: a summary of the source, including one direct quotation.
- Paragraph 2: a short reflection of how this source matters to current understanding of identity and community
- segregated schooling in the US, 1950s
- Brown vs. Board of Education (1954)
- Jim Crow laws
- Civil Rights movement
- World War II trauma and PTSD in soldiers
- Socioeconomic discrimination of low-income white communities
Questions to ponder:
- Why do the townspeople call Kya "dirty," "Swamp Trash," and "Marsh Girl"?
- Why is there a separate school for white and Black students and a "Colored Town" where only Black residents live?
- What are the similarities between Kya and Jumpin'/Mabel?
- Why did soldiers returning from World War II have a difficult time adjusting to post-war life back home here in the US?
Suggested Search Terms
Search terms to get you started. As you read, you will add additional terms to research further.
- civil rights
- Jim Crow
- Shell Shock
- World War II soldiers
- Separate but equal
- de facto
- de jure
Integrated tools for note-taking, outlining, citation, documentation archiving/annotation, and collaborative research and writing.
Go directly to one of nine databases by clicking the link on the right.
Or, to search across all or any combination of your ABC-CLIO databases, enter a word or phrase in the box and check the databases you wish to search before clicking the search button.
Search using either the Explora database, the History Reference Center or the Literary Reference Center.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Search or Browse topics in SIRS Issue Researcher or SIRS Government Reporter. Find newspaper, magazine, and reference articles, as well as primary sources, charts, images, and related weblinks.
Electronic Book Collections
This collection contains thousands of fiction and nonfiction e-book titles including classic literary works, contemporary fiction, important historical documents and general reference materials
Purdue OWL provides updated information about and numerous examples of paper formatting, in-text citations and work cited pages.
UNC Writing Center
A comprehensive collection of handouts on writing, style, citation and more.
Formatting MLA Citations
PowerPoint presentation focusing on the why and how of formatting citations in MLA style.
Desegregating America's Schools by
Call Number: 379.2 HIN
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
The Brown V. Board of Education Trial by
Call Number: 344.730798 GAR
Publication Date: 2014-12-12
The Civil Rights Movement by
Call Number: 323.09 MCN
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Remembering Jim Crow by
Call Number: 305.896 REM
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Poverty in the United States by
Call Number: 344.7303 BUR
Publication Date: 2018-04-02