Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Assignment in brief
- Research Question
- Working bibliography
- Thesis statement
- Rough draft
- Final draft
- Bubonic plague
- Yellow Fever
Call Number: 614.5 CUN
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Mountains Beyond Mountains (Adapted for Young People) by
Call Number: 610.92 KID
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
The Pandemic Century by
Call Number: 614.4 HON
Publication Date: 2019-04-09
The Greatest Benefit to Mankind by
Call Number: 610.9 POR
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Women in White Coats by
Call Number: 610.922 CAM
Publication Date: 2021-03-02
Questions to explore/starting points for your research
- Disease and politics--rise and fall of empires/countries/peoples (e.g.: Aztecs, Inka, Rome)
- Disease and Science/Medicine/Vaccination--how did scientists and doctors discover a treatment/cure for the disease? What steps did they take to find a treatment/cure? What did people think cause the disease?
- Specific scientists and their role in combatting disease (e.g.: Walter Reed, Galen, Louis Pasteur)?
- Connections between disease and religion? (e.g.: How did Bubonic Plague affect the medieval Catholic Church?
- Disease and race/exclusion--how did disease shape ideas about race and ethnicity? How did disease lead to exclusionary practices and "othering"?
- How did disease reshape societies? Did it change the economy? Gender relations?
- How does disease influence artistic and literary styles? How did artists and authors respond to traumatic incidents of disease?
Go directly to one of nine databases by clicking the link on the right.
Or, to search across all or any combination of your ABC-CLIO databases, enter a word or phrase in the box and check the databases you wish to search before clicking the search button.
History Reference Center
This database features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts, including historical documents, biographies and maps and photos.
Explora Secondary School
Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic and simple search that quickly delivers relevant results.
Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.
Science Online provides up-to-date information on all science topics. Includes video, news articles, interactive experiments, and e-learning modules.
Integrated tools for note-taking, outlining, citation, documentation archiving/annotation, and collaborative research and writing.
Purdue OWL provides updated information about and numerous examples of paper formatting, in-text citations and work cited pages.
UNC Writing Center
A comprehensive collection of handouts on writing, style, citation and more.
Formatting MLA Citations
PowerPoint presentation focusing on the why and how of formatting citations in MLA style.