Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AP US History Study Guide
Click Here for The Gilder Lehrman Study Guide specifically for the AP Exam
Find Timelines, Key Concepts, Videos, Supporting Documents, and Essays for each of the 9 Periods.
Can't find what you're looking for? Don't understand how search limiters work? Getting too many results (or too few)? Having trouble accessing documents?
Ask a librarian! Ms. Rindahl and Mrs. Chevallier are happy to help you with your searching and studying.
Smithsonian Primary Resources
Smithsonian Primary Sources in U.S. History brings the past to life with a curated collection of images and documents directly from the Smithsonian archives and Gale’s leading digital collections.
Search for specific documents or browse. Documents and Images are sorted by topic within each era. Choose an era, then a topic from the drop-down menu in order to view various sources.
EBSCO History Reference Center
Click on "History Reference Center" before entering your search terms.
Gale Cengage is a hosting platform that allows users to search across multiple databases at once.
Choose relevant databases or search across all databases at once for literary criticism, reference articles, news, primary sources and more.
For Advanced Search
JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Try a simple search, then filter your results by subject and/or content type. Or, apply your filters beforehand using the Advanced Search option.
Don't want to search? You can also browse resources by subject!
EBSCOhost Web is a hosting platform that allows users to search across multiple databases at once.
Choose relevant databases before clicking "Continue." Choose between the default "Basic Search" or "Advanced Search" before entering your search terms and any limiters.
ProQuest Research Library
The ProQuest Research Library is a database with multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications.
Try a simple or advanced search, then filter your results by subject and/or source type.
Websites for Primary Sources and Activities
Digital Public Library Primary Source Sets
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets include letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.
National Archives Learning Resources
Access eBooks, images, video, audio, and other primary sources, in addition to activities or courses on a specific topic.
Library of Congress Primary Source Sets
From "Abraham Lincoln" and "Baseball" to "Weather Forecasting" and "Women's Suffrage," each topic heading from the Library of Congress contains a number of documents and images; some even contain video and/or audio. Each topic also includes a Teacher's Guide that provides historical context and questions for further thought.
Student Discovery Sets
FOR APPLE USERS ONLY
Free iBook downloads from the Library of Congress for iPhone, iPad, or Mac. Pamphlets are typically 23-24 pages.
Search "Student Discovery Sets" within iBooks for a full list of topics including World War I, The Constitution, and Jim Crow.