Read for General Information
Steps 1 and 2:
This tab contains sources of general information. To get an idea of the topics and issues surrounding poverty in America, read encyclopedia entires, Issues and Controversies Databases, Census Information, etc. What topics are interesting to you?
Websites
United States Census Bureau on Poverty http://www.census.gov/topics/income-poverty/poverty.html
National Poverty Center from University of Michigan http://www.npc.umich.edu/poverty/
- AllsidesNews and issues from multiple perspectives.
- Google Dataset SearchSearch and identify statistical data surrounding your topic.
Books
Rich and Poor in America by Call Number: 339.20973 GILISBN: 9781598840568Publication Date: 2008-05-12
Nickel and Dimed by Call Number: 305.569 EHRISBN: 0805063889Publication Date: 2001-05-08
Social Issues in America by Call Number: REF 361.973 SOCISBN: 0765680610Publication Date: 2006-03-15
Poverty by Call Number: 362.55 GIFISBN: 9781599202778Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Occasional Human Sacrifice by Call Number: 174.28 ELLISBN: 9781324065500Publication Date: 2024-05-14
Denied, Detained, Deported: Stories from the Dark Side of American Immigration by Call Number: 325.73 BAUISBN: 9781426303326Publication Date: 2009-04-14
Library Databases with Issues Researchers
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today's hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.
- Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covering the Leading Issues most studied and debated by students. - Issues (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on today's most important issues.
eBooks
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues by ISBN: 9780313392054Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Closing the Food Gap by ISBN: 9780807047323
The Warmth of Other Suns by ISBN: 9780679604075
